Discussion

Left ArrowBack to discussions page
Olivier_GrenierOlivier_Grenier Posts: 42
edited June 2016 in Robotiq Products
Hi everyone,

Here is an exclusive demonstration of a new software (which we will launch soon) that allows you to program a robot's trajectory in seconds.

Do you have specific applications in mind where this software would be particularly useful? Let everyone know below :)

Here is the video demonstration only for DoF members:

 

You can click here to download the .urcap file.
**Please note that in order to install this file, you need UR beta software 3.3.0.111 (beta 3) on your robot as it uses functionalities that are not released yet. Robotiq cannot distribute the UR beta software so this trial is only available if you are in the UR beta distribution list. You also need a Robotiq Force Torque Sensor (FT 150 or FT 300) in order to use the beta software. It is still in beta so do not hesitate to contact us if you encounter any issue.**

Disclaimer: Licensing and Liability

As a Beta site, you receive a temporary license to use the Beta software until Robotiq inc. revokes that right or until the product officially ships, whichever comes first. You understand that the Beta software, documentation, and any updates may contain errors and are provided for limited evaluation only.

You agree that this Beta software is licensed to you on an "AS IS" basis without any warranty of any nature. ROBOTIQ INC. DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

ROBOTIQ INC. SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY DAMAGE OR LOSS, WHETHER DIRECT, INDIRECT, SPECIAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL (INCLUDING LOST PROFITS), ARISING OUT OF OR RESULTING FROM YOUR POSSESSION OR USE OF THE SOFTWARE (INCLUDING DATA LOSS OR CORRUPTION), REGARDLESS OF WHETHER SUCH LIABILITY IS BASED IN TORT, CONTRACT OR OTHERWISE.

You may not and you may not permit others to (a) disassemble, decompile or otherwise derive source code from the Software, (b) reverse engineer the Software, (c) modify or prepare derivative works of the Software, (d) copy the Software, except as expressly permitted in this Agreement, (e) rent or lease the Software, (f) use the Software, (f) use the Software in any manner that infringes the intellectual property or other rights of another party, or (g) transfer the Software or any copy thereof to another party.

Olivier Grenier-Lafond
Sales & Marketing Coordinator @ Robotiq
[email protected]
linkedin.com/in/oliviergl

Comments

  • Kaleb_RodesKaleb_Rodes Posts: 60Founding Pro, Partner, Beta Tester VIsion 1.1 Program, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers, Beta Tester Camera URCap 1.2.0-beta Handy
    So cool! Customers will love this.  B)
    Kaleb Rodes
    Applications Engineer
    Behco
  • Alexandre_PareAlexandre_Pare Posts: 56 Crew
    @preciadoe
    This is what I have been talking to you about in my last email! Would this be useful for what you want to do?
    Alexandre Pare, Eng.
    Application Engineer
    Robotiq
    [email protected]
  • mdemmmdemm Posts: 1Founding Pro, Partner
    Very cool! I know of a few customers who could use this.
    Matt Demm
    Applications Engineer
    Axis New England
    [email protected]
  • engmgrengmgr Posts: 1Founding Pro Handy
    Will there be a version that will work with a Motoman Robot?
  • matthewd92matthewd92 Posts: 897Founding Pro, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers Handy
    We could have some uses. Does it require the FT sensor to remain on the robot to be used?  Or can you have a single FT sensor that is used to train a number of robots?
  • Alexandre_PareAlexandre_Pare Posts: 56 Crew
    @matthewd92
    You only need the FT sensor to do the recording. You can remove it afterward but you will have an offset in the trajectory because of the tooling offset. A solution could be to have a spacer that would replace the FT sensor once the trajectory recording is done. This way you have the same TCP value with and without the sensor!

    Alexandre Pare, Eng.
    Application Engineer
    Robotiq
    [email protected]
  • matthewd92matthewd92 Posts: 897Founding Pro, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers Handy
    @Alexandre_Pare can you adjust the TCP length after its taught to compensate?
  • Nicolas_LauzierNicolas_Lauzier Posts: 26Beta Tester VIsion 1.1 Program, Vacuum Beta tester Crew
    @matthewd92

    It is possible to record the path with the sensor and check the "Relative" option. This option does two things: 1) it plays the path relative to the robot position when it enters the instruction and 2) it plays the path using Cartesian (x-y-z, not joint positions) using the TCP information. In your case, you only want 2).

    Therefore, you can add a standard move to a fixed waypoint before the "Path" instruction and select the "Relative" option. As such, you will be able to change the TCP after you remove the sensor and the path will be compensated.

    As @Alexandre_Pare said, you can only record and change the path options when a sensor is plugged in. Without sensor, all the command screen of the "path" instruction will be greyed and not clickable but the path will still be played.

    Nicolas Lauzier, Eng., PhD
    R&D Director
    [email protected]

  • AlexYustAlexYust Posts: 3Founding Pro, Partner Handy
    First off, I love this idea and have had more than a few requests for this functionality from customers. Based on what we're seeing, it looks like you are using the FT sensor for pre/post processing of the data (high frequency data logging, etc.) If that is the case, would it be possible to connect the FT sensor electrically but keep my end-of-arm tooling without the FT sensor? That way, we could use Robotiq's software and hardware to create the path without using up any of the UR's payload and eliminate the need to apply offsets after the fact.
  • Nicolas_LauzierNicolas_Lauzier Posts: 26Beta Tester VIsion 1.1 Program, Vacuum Beta tester Crew
    @AlexYust
    Yes, it would technically be possible to connect the sensor without having it mounted on the robot (or attached on the side of end-effector). The sensor should be placed such that the x-y-z axis are aligned with the robot tool axes. However, the ActiveDrive mode (hand guiding) has been optimized with the sensor in-line with the tool. Therefore, the guiding might not be ideal if the sensor is not placed in the standard manner. In the past, we tested various approaches such as having the sensor on the side, like a handle. It turns out that directly guiding the tool directly is more intuitive and generally gives better results.

    Yesterday, we did some tests here in R&D and figured out that it works fine to compensate the offset of the sensor if it is removed afterwards. As such, this is the approach that I would suggest to use.

    Nicolas Lauzier, Eng., PhD
    R&D Director
    [email protected]

  • Nicolas_LauzierNicolas_Lauzier Posts: 26Beta Tester VIsion 1.1 Program, Vacuum Beta tester Crew
    engmgr said:
    Will there be a version that will work with a Motoman Robot?
    @engmgr, it is not planned to release this software on Motoman Robot.

    However, we do have a similar product on Motoman, Kinetiq Teaching . It does not allow to record continous paths. However, it allows to guide the robot and save various waypoints (joint, linear, circular) in order to produce an INFORM job. It was designed for welding applications (it has some icons for welding options, for instance) but I know that some people use it in other applications, i.e. to teach a sequence of points, save an INFORM job and then add some other instructions (gripper, etc.).

    Nicolas Lauzier, Eng., PhD
    R&D Director
    [email protected]

  • markus_rothtechnikmarkus_rothtechnik Posts: 15Founding Pro, Partner Handy
    great! this could be useful for replicating all kinds of manual processes like painting, polishing, special assembly operations etc.
    or replace machines for engraving, one could use a template / stencil...
  • Alexandre_PareAlexandre_Pare Posts: 56 Crew
    Hey all,
    I thought I would post this here since this video shows the king of application where this new trajectory recording feature can really make programming easier. I was looking at one of our client's website, Filter Design Company LTD in the UK and came across a really nice video. It is a glue dispensing application using the 2F85 Robotiq gripper that is holding the component during the glue dispensing process. 



    Alexandre Pare, Eng.
    Application Engineer
    Robotiq
    [email protected]
  • Olivier_GrenierOlivier_Grenier Posts: 42
    edited May 2016
    UPDATE!

    You can click here to download the .urcap file.
    **Please note that in order to install this file, you need UR beta software 3.3.0.111 (beta 3) on your robot as it uses functionalities that are not released yet. Robotiq cannot distribute the UR beta software so this trial is only available if you are in the UR beta distribution list. You also need a Robotiq Force Torque Sensor (FT 150 or FT 300) in order to use the beta software. It is still in beta so do not hesitate to contact us if you encounter any issue.**
    Olivier Grenier-Lafond
    Sales & Marketing Coordinator @ Robotiq
    [email protected]
    linkedin.com/in/oliviergl
  • matthewd92matthewd92 Posts: 897Founding Pro, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers Handy
    edited May 2016
    @Samuel_Bouchard if you want to send us a FT sensor to test we can do some testing on the beta software.   We have a very complex path project coming up where we've been looking at developing this functionality ourselves as we can't see any other way to do what's being done in a expeditious manner. 
  • Samuel_BouchardSamuel_Bouchard Posts: 149 Handy
    @matthewd92 we'll contact you on this, thanks for the offer!

  • Kaleb_RodesKaleb_Rodes Posts: 60Founding Pro, Partner, Beta Tester VIsion 1.1 Program, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers, Beta Tester Camera URCap 1.2.0-beta Handy
    FYI

    The Universal Robots Software 3.3.0.145 is now available.

    Link to download: Click Here
    Kaleb Rodes
    Applications Engineer
    Behco
  • Samuel_BouchardSamuel_Bouchard Posts: 149 Handy
    Thanks so much @Kaleb_Rodes ;

    @Victor_Canton here is the UR software update.

  • ericeric Posts: 18Founding Pro, Partner Handy
    I'm very excited about this and the capabilities it brings to various applications.  Thanks guys!
  • Alexandre_PareAlexandre_Pare Posts: 56 Crew
    If you are looking for more info about the new UR Software and how to install the UR Caps, check out this link!
    Alexandre Pare, Eng.
    Application Engineer
    Robotiq
    [email protected]
  • EnricEnric Posts: 109Founding Pro, Partner, Beta Tester Multi Gripper, Vacuum Beta tester Handy
    edited June 2016
    I want to try it. Active Drive has had acceptance in BIEMH2016 and this solution is a perfect addition and very interesting solution.

    Made for UR in BIEMH2016 Spain.



    Enric Vila Avila
    Vicosystems S.L.L.
    Industrial Collaborative Systems

    [email protected]
  • gerengagerenga Posts: 14Partner Apprentice
    Has anybody tested this function yet when you put the part after teaching under conveyor tracking. Does it work? If yes reliable?

    Sorry I have no access to it yet otherwise I would test it myself.
    The reason I'm asking is that I have quite a project with tracking a door sealing pattern while having the door in a carrier linked with play to a conveyor system. I ran into quite a number of challenges regarding the conveyor tracking and I'm wondering how this path would react.

    However great idea, closes a gap.
  • Nicolas_LauzierNicolas_Lauzier Posts: 26Beta Tester VIsion 1.1 Program, Vacuum Beta tester Crew
    @gerenga, the actual code moving the robot is the script function "servoj". We haven't made tests with conveyor tracking but if servoj supports it, it should behave the same way with the Path Recording functionality.

    Nicolas Lauzier, Eng., PhD
    R&D Director
    [email protected]

  • gerengagerenga Posts: 14Partner Apprentice
    @gerenga, the actual code moving the robot is the script function "servoj". We haven't made tests with conveyor tracking but if servoj supports it, it should behave the same way with the Path Recording functionality.
    If I recall it right, servoj doesn't support as conveyor tracking is doing a shifting of the tcp in conveyor direction. Since you are using servoj there is nothing for conveyor tracking to work with and it may ignore it.
    However just a guess, would have to be confirmed.
  • Samuel_BouchardSamuel_Bouchard Posts: 149 Handy
    Hi Everyone, here is a new public video (not as good at the one of @Enric of course :smile: )  if you want to share the word with colleagues:



    You can also find a blog post explaining the software as well as the new gripper interface on polyscope.


  • EnricEnric Posts: 109Founding Pro, Partner, Beta Tester Multi Gripper, Vacuum Beta tester Handy
    Hi @Olivier_Grenier Today I have tested this URCaps (Path) in UR3+FT300 with V3.3.111(Beta3). Work fine, but not work together with the URCaps (gripper). Version V3.3.091 good for URCaps(Gripper) Version V3.3.111 good for URCaps (Path) Any update new?
    Enric Vila Avila
    Vicosystems S.L.L.
    Industrial Collaborative Systems

    [email protected]
  • Etienne_SamsonEtienne_Samson Posts: 416Beta Tester Beetle, Wrist Camera URCap 1.3.0, Vacuum Beta tester Handy
    Hi @Enric! Thanks for the comments I'll transfer this to the R&D guys.  We tested everything with the official release 3.3.0145, not with the other beta (quite busy for Automatica). We will test the beta release after that.
    Etienne Samson
    Technical Support Director
    +1 418-380-2788 ext. 207
    [email protected]
  • Nicolas_LauzierNicolas_Lauzier Posts: 26Beta Tester VIsion 1.1 Program, Vacuum Beta tester Crew
    Hi @Enric, please note that the gripper URCap we released on DOF was for beta 2 but a change in beta 3 was made which made it unusable. As Etienne said, we will make an official release next week for both URCaps that will work with the official UR software 3.3.0.  

    Nicolas Lauzier, Eng., PhD
    R&D Director
    [email protected]

Sign In or Register to comment.
Left ArrowBack to discussions page