Home Integration

Discussion

Left ArrowBack to discussions page
henriklarssonhenriklarsson Unconfirmed Posts: 3 Apprentice
Hi all,

I'm totally new to universal robots. Is there a decent guide on how to wire a proximity sensor to a UR10 and I can't really find a decent guide anywhere. It's a capacitive 4 wire pnp sensor.

I'd like to know where the brown, blue, black and white wires need to go.

Many thanks!

Best Answer

• henriklarssonhenriklarsson Unconfirmed Posts: 3 Apprentice
    Accepted Answer
    I figured out - 24V, 0V, input, input... for anyone else that’s as clueless as me about this stuff. 

Comments

• matthewd92matthewd92 Founding Pro, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers Posts: 1,170 Handy
    Brown 24V, blue 0V, white and black are the signals. If it were a 3 wire switch instead, black would be the signal. Also, they need to be PNP as that is what the robot needs. Not NPN. 
  • henriklarssonhenriklarsson Unconfirmed Posts: 3 Apprentice
    Thanks Matthew - I managed to get it yesterday and felt somewhat proud of myself! Lol! Your response is undoubtedly more useful to anyone else that might be doing it for the first time.
  • veryandy1veryandy1 Posts: 7 Apprentice
    on this theme, we have a UR10 for welding and want to fit 2 off 24 volt 3 wire PNP proximity sensors to 2 adjacent jigs, to make sure the parts are loaded correctly before the Cobot starts the cycle. Can anybody let me know where i can physically wire the blue, brown and black wires from each sensor within the UR control panel please ? 
  • matthewd92matthewd92 Founding Pro, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers Posts: 1,170 Handy
    edited October 27
    Blue to 0V, brown to 24V and black or white to a digital or configurable input. You can get the 0V and 24V off of the IO blocks. Outputs have 0V and inputs have 24V available.