DoF - a Robotiq Community
Warning sign
The Dof Community was shut down in June 2023. This is a read-only archive.
If you have questions about Robotiq products please reach our support team.
markus_rothtechnik

Hi there

okay i'll be the first and post a challenge i am trying to solve. since i am a newbie to robotics i don't have years of experience to draw from :-)
a potential customer asked me to automate the task of clipping these plastic strips onto various aluminum profiles. they have a snap on shape and at the moment they do this by hand. thousands per day.
the aluminum profiles vary in width, length and shape. the region where the plastic strip snaps on is of course always the same. some profiles need these strips on one side only, some on both.

so far i have concluded:
1. handling these plastic strips is not feasible when they are shipped "unordered" and mixed in a box.
2. so first i would need to make sure they come ordered. see picture where they are layered. i talked to the Injection Moulder and he might be willing to set a UR10 ontop of his IMM. the idea is to stack the parts into boxes where they could not move. the boxes themselfes would be stackable too. this way alot of storage volume would be saved and also transports too. Problem: the parts deform when they cool. i don't know if they are completely done deforming when they arrive in the box or only 50%.
i don't know if this will me a big problem causing jamming etc. 
3. at the assembly company i would install a UR10 as well, and the idea is that on one side there is a pallet or similar with stacks of aluminum profiles, and on the other side there are the boxes with plastic strips. the robot picks a profile and places it in a "vice", some mechanism that will hold the aluminum profile in place while the robot clips on the plastic strips. 
4. the robot then picks a plastic strip (or two) and the robot tool itself has a clamping mechanism that will perform the clipping onto the profile.