Home Programming

Discussion

Left ArrowBack to discussions page
JstewartJstewart Posts: 62 Apprentice
Hello,

Attached is a URscript that was generated from the sim software. Im new to script programming and im trying to understand more on how to use this to get more out of my UR. 

the questions i have are:

1. The program created a variable called "step_count_7679db51_583c_48aa_afeb_a37e29d0d27f" and it is being used in the thread "Step_Counter_Thread_1f0542e5_48a9_4cd4_8e00_e9bb9f64c151". is this created to tell the thread to run only once?
  2. If i wanted to run this code on my UR, would i just call the "Step_Counter_Thread_1f0542e5_48a9_4cd4_8e00_e9bb9f64c151()"?

Off topic but has anyone used an automatic tool changer with a UR and can give me some in-site on how they did it as far as the programming goes?

Thanks in advanced

Best Answer

• matthewd92matthewd92 Founding Pro, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers Posts: 1,214 Handy
    Accepted Answer
    The question I would ask is why a thread in the function?   Do you need this to be processed in the background?  If not, this is a quick function call and so could easily be inline.  If you need to know always what tool is loaded, like if someone paused the robot and swapped tools then you need the thread to loop so that it is always running. The way it's written it's a single execution background function.

The function would simply be as below, notice I am using a return statement and not assigning the global variable directly.

def toolStatus():
      if (get_standard_digital_in(0)):  
         return 1
      elif (get_standard_digital_in(1)):
         return 2
      end
      return 0
    end

Use it like this:
    ToolAct=toolStatus()