Discussion

Left ArrowBack to discussions page
C_HooverC_Hoover Posts: 6 Apprentice
I'm currently having the issue where during our application of putting threaded inserts into holes in a box with a UR 5 if the force becomes too great for the robot it faults out and can't return to the previously programmed points. It gets close but is still off enough (~1mm) to throw off the insertion. Has anyone dealt with this or know of any way to fix it?

Best Answer

Comments

• C_HooverC_Hoover Posts: 6 Apprentice
    edited October 2016
    Thank you, I'm relatively new to programing the UR but I'll have to play around with the force functionality of the robot. The robot, in its current configuration is really prone to "flopping" over, but that's another issue in its own. Do you know if the maximum force the robot is able to apply is velocity dependent or is the same at any velocity?
  • matthewd92matthewd92 Posts: 491Founding Pro, Tactile Sensor Beta Testers Handy
    Since the standards call for limiting impact, I would presume that the force allowable varies with speed, being the faster you go, the less force you will be able to exert due to momentum.  One of the things that we do is we will move very fast until right before we need to do a precision process.  We will then slow way down and make that move.  There is also a function you can use to verify if the arm is actually at rest if you need to make sure that its not moving, is_steady().  We have used that when we want to move really quickly but then use a force function to make sure that the force function is not seeing residual bounce from the deceleration since we have a number of robots that not only are running at 80-90% of max speed they are also just about maxed out on acceleration values as the cycle time on several of them is very critical.